Stylish vs UserChrome.css Speed Up...

edited March 2009 in Stylish
Hi,

I'm a newbie in CSS and other concepts yet getting to know Stylish + CSS day by day so excuse/correct me if I'm wrong in anything below...

Stylish is powerful and on a today's decent 2/4 core machine its "interpreted" speed is almost equivalent to speed of Userchrome.css' "compiled" XUL.MFL. Yet on my oldest rig (1 core 1.6ghz), Stylish's speed is noticeably lesser than Userchrome.css' compiled interface...

What I mean is; if you take a heavy style (full of graphics, hovers, conditions and etc., for me MBlue series modifications) and compare its rendering speed via Stylish versus Userchrome.css, Stylish clearly lags behind. With Userchrome.css heavy styles seem to render "in time" where with Stylish heavy styles seem to render "when available" causing sluggish styled UI elements...

At least these are what I experienced while using Stylish and Userchrome.css. Why I bring this up is this; Can there be options in the next release of Stylish to enable user to "export selected style to Userchrome.css / delete exported style from Userchrome.css" for speeding up purposes (mainly 1st)? Since XUL.MFL is there for speeding things up and they use almost same format AFAIK, it'll be a simple cut/copy/paste operation between Stylish(.rdf) and Userchrome.css...

Anyway I already ported my heavy styles to Userchrome.css and enjoying speed ups. Yet it was Stylish's lagged behavior forced me to research and make use of Userchrome.css in the first place. So I also write these to guide who may also be experiencing speed issues since mozillazine and this forum doesn't clearly indicate that use of Usechrome.css instead of Stylish "can" increase your speed...

Thanks for this great add-on yet expected to see Stylish v1.0x on addons.mozilla.org instead of a threads published here...

Bye...

Comments

• Hello,

please don't get me wrong or take this too personally, I'm just stating my opinion on the subject.